India wins ICC twenty20 cricket world cup | T20 Cricket World Cup

September 24, 2007 by admin

India wins first twenty20 cricket world cup by defeating Pakistan at Wanderers cricket stadium in South Africa. It is another unforgettable match after their league encounter between arch-rivals. Young Indian cricketers held their nerves in the crucial moments to clinch the inaugural 20-20 cricket world cup. India won the only world cup in 1983 under the inspirational leadership of Kapil Dev. Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the young team with an unparallel maturity.

Image courtesy: Andhra Jyothy

Major of significance of this win is it is due to collective team work without any coach. Dhoni marshaled these young boys and ideally utilized their aggressiveness for greater glory. Absence of seniors is the major reason for this collectiveness and lack of politics. Congrats for BCCI for selecting these young cricketers for such a major tournament.

Man of the tournament: Shahid Afridi.

Man of the match: Irfan Pathan. Irfan pathan took three crucial wickets by giving just 16 runs and turn the match India’s way. Coach and captain should groom this talented all-rounder if India wants to win more matches.

Most crucial moment of the final:

Imran Nazir ran out due to a wonderful fielding effort by Robin Uthappa. Not only catches but run outs also win matches.

Unforgettable match:

It is difficult to forget this match from memory for a long long time. Fortunes fluctuated between both teams and Misbah-Ul-Haq once again foundered in the crucial moment. He failed to repeat the heroics of Javed Miandad against India in Sharjah. His pre-initiated moment to hit that shot and Joginder intelligent bowling took world cup away from Pakistan. I can’t understand why he tried that shot when Pakistan just needed 5 runs from 4 balls. But Misbah-Ul-Haq is undoubtedly future Injamam-Ul-Haq.

Crucial moments of the twenty20 final:

1. Gautam Gambhir half century when India lost wickets successively.

2. Robin Sharma’s 30 runs in the end.

3. Imran Nazir run out- Pakistan lost world cup with this run out.

4. Irfan Pathan’s 2 wickets in a single over including Shahid Afridi.

5. Misbah-Ul-Haq’s 3 sixers in a Harbhajan Singh’s over.

6. R.P. Singh’s penultimate over.

7. Joginder Sharma bowling in the final over.

My heartiest congratulations to Indian team for bringing happiness to the millions of Indian hearts. Indins will never forget this night. Chakde india. Indian cricketers should continue this aggressiveness and team work against Australia in the upcoming oneday series.

Previous Women’s T20 World Cup :Team India | T20 Cricket World Cup
Next My dream 20-20 cricket world cup team | T20 Cricket World Cup