Sri Lankan team | T20 Cricket World Cup

Srilankan team

Sri Lanka was the best team of last World T20 tournament, in June 2009, racing into finals undefeated until Pakistan snatched the final prize. Now, May 2010 comes with another opportunity for Kumar Sangakkara’s men to go that one step further.

Sri Lanka squad for T20 world cup 2010:

1. Kumar Sangakkara (captain): Left handed batsman, wicket keeper

2. Mahela Jayawardene: Right handed top order batsman

3. Sanath Jayasuriya: Left handed batsman, left arm spin

4. Tillakaratane Dilshan: Right handed batsman, offspinner

5. Chamara Kapugedera: Right handed batsman

6. Angelo Mathews: Crucial all-rounder.

7. Thissara Perera: Left handed batsman, right arm medium

8. Chinthaka Jayasinghe: Right handed batsman, medium pacer

9. Dinesh Chandimal: rookie Right handed batsman

10. Suraj Randiv: Offspinner, can handle the bat

11. Muthiah Muralitharan (vice-captain): Offspinner, most wickets in cricket.

12. Chanaka Welegedera: Left arm fast medium bowler

13. Lasith Malinga: He is in tremendous form.

14. Nuwan Kulasekara: Right arm medium pace bowler

15. Ajantha Mendis: Right arm finger spinner

Team rating: 8/10

Final verdict: Tremendous bolwing attack. Sri Lanka can reach finals if batsmen fire. Poor form of Dilshan and Jayasuriya are worrying points.

Author: Mona Gupta (New Delhi)

Previous South Africa T20 team | T20 Cricket World Cup
Next India Tour of Australia